View and modify a Site in Smart Scale

Contents

View Site details

You can view additional details about the Delivery Groups in your Site. To do this, from the Smart Scale page, locate the Site you want to manage and click View Site

Smart Tools displays monitoring, event information, and power status for the registered machines in each Delivery Group of your Site. Select one of the following tabs:

  • Monitoring: Displays sessions in use, number of machines powered on, number of machines in maintenance mode, and load index. By default, data is displayed for the previous four hours. You can show data up to the previous 30 days.
  • Events: Displays the success or failure of executing scheduled items, powering machines on or off, and entering maintenance mode.
  • Machine Activity: Displays the current state of events for registered machines in the Delivery Group. 
  • Machine Status: Displays the following information for machines in the Delivery Group:
    • Registration and power status
    • Whether or not the registration or power status was changed by Smart Tools
    • Maintenance mode status
    • Whether or not the maintenance mode status was changed by Smart Tools
  • Site Details: Displays the Delivery Controllers and Delivery Groups in your Site and the Site Agent status for each Delivery Group. You can also update the Full Administrator credentials for the Site, synchronize your Site's data with Smart Tools, and remove the Site from the Smart Scale page.

To refresh the current data displayed on each tab, use one of the following methods:

  • Click the menu button, next to Configure, and then select Sync Site data.
  • From the Site Details page, click Sync Site Data.

Back to top

Edit Site credentials

Your Site credentials are the Citrix administrator credentials that Smart Tools uses to impersonate the Site administrator and execute monitoring and scaling actions. You might need to edit your Site credentials if your Site did not register successfully when you added it to Smart Tools, if you used a Smart Tools blueprint to deploy your Site, or if the account credentials were changed in Citrix Studio. 

Note: If your Site uses the XenApp and XenDesktop Service in Citrix Cloud, this function is not available.

  1. From the Smart Scale page, locate the Site you want to modify and click View Site.
  2. Click the Site Details tab and then click Edit Site Credentials.
  3. On the Edit Site page, enter the username (in domain\username format) and password of the Citrix administrator account you want to use. 
  4. Click Done to save your changes.

Back to top

Enable or disable Smart Scale event notifications

Smart Tools can send you email notifications when Smart Scale experiences errors and when those errors have been resolved. By default, notifications are disabled.

  1. From the Smart Tools menu bar, click Resource & Settings.
  2. Under User Settings, click Notifications.
  3. In Smart Scale error events, click the toggle button to enable or disable notifications for Smart Scale only.

To enable or disable all Smart Tools notifications, select or clear Send me notifications.

Back to top 

Turn off Smart Scale

When Smart Scale is turned off, monitoring and power management actions is disabled for all Delivery Groups in the Site. Although new monitoring data is no longer collected, you can still view previously-collected monitoring data.

Smart Scale turns off automatically for the Site if no Delivery Groups have Smart Scale configured. To turn off Smart Scale manually, complete the steps below.

  1. From the Smart Scale page, locate the Site you want to modify and click View Site.
  2. Click the menu button and select Turn Off Smart Scale for this Sitesmart-scale-menu-turn-off.png
    A message appears, prompting you to confirm turning off Smart Scale.
  3. Click Click Turn Off.

To turn Smart Scale back on, click Turn ON Smart Scale from any tab (Monitoring, Site Details, and so on). Afterward, Smart Scale resumes monitoring your Delivery Groups and you can re-enable power management for each Delivery Group in the Site.

Back to top

Remove a Site

Remove a Site with the Smart Tools Site Agent installed

You can remove a Site using the following methods:

  • Remove the Site from Smart Tools (preferred). This method effectively unregisters the Site from Smart Tools. The Site no longer appears on the Smart Scale page and Smart Tools no longer monitors the Site or carries out scaling actions.
  • Remove the Site from the Smart Scale page. This method removes the Site from view on the Smart Scale and Smart Check pages. Smart Tools stops all monitoring and scaling actions in progress. However, the Smart Tools Site Agent remains on all machines on which it was installed. 

To remove a Site from Smart Tools (preferred)

  1. Disable any scheduled actions or capacity management triggers for the Site. To do this, click Smart Scale and then select the Site you want to modify. If applicable, delete any schedules and clear any capacity management configurations for the Site.
  2. Uninstall the Smart Tools Site Agent from all Delivery Controllers in the Site. When all Site Agents are removed, Smart Tools removes the Site from the Smart Scale page. 

To remove a Site from view

  1. From the Smart Scale page, locate the Site you want to remove and click View Site.
  2. Click Site Details and then click Remove Site. A message appears, prompting you to confirm removal.
  3. Click Remove. Smart Tools removes the Site from the Smart Scale page. 

Remove a XenApp and XenDesktop Service Site

By default, Smart Tools automatically discovers Sites using the XenApp and XenDesktop Service in Citrix Cloud. If you attempt to remove the Site from Smart Scale by clicking Site Details > Remove Site, Smart Tools automatically rediscovers the Site the next time you view Smart Scale's Sites page. This means a Site using the XenApp and XenDesktop Service currently cannot be removed from the Smart Scale page. 

If you no longer want to use Smart Scale with your Site, you can:

  1. Disable any scheduled actions or capacity management triggers for the Site. To do this, click Smart Scale and then select the Site you want to modify. If applicable, delete any schedules and clear any capacity management configurations for the Site.
  2. Turn off Smart Scale for all Delivery Groups in the Site. 

Back to top

0 Comments