About deployment profiles

Contents

Overview

Deployment profiles are settings that are saved from previous blueprint deployments. Creating a deployment profile is optional. By using a deployment profile to redeploy a blueprint, you can: 

  • Reuse previously-configured deployment settings to deploy the blueprint to the same resource location, minimizing input errors
  • Skip several blueprint configuration steps, saving time during deployment

Create a deployment profile

You can choose to create a deployment profile as one of the final steps in deploying a Smart Tools blueprint. Creating a deployment profile saves the VM and blueprint configuration settings that you specified during the blueprint deployment process.

Creating a deployment profile is optional. To create a deployment profile when prompted, simply enter a name for the deployment profile and a brief description. Smart Tools saves it to your account so you can reuse it at a later time. 

Reuse a deployment profile

Reusing a deployment profile involves applying pre-configured blueprint settings to a new deployment.

Important: When choosing a deployment profile to reuse, the deployment profile you select must match the blueprint you want to deploy and the resource location you want to use. For example, if you want to deploy the XenDesktop Proof of Concept blueprint to an AWS resource location, the deployment profile must be created from a previous deployment of that blueprint on the same AWS resource location.  

  1. On the Library page, point to the blueprint you want to deploy. 
  2. Under Actions, click Actions > Deploy. The blueprint description page appears. 
  3. Click Start deployment setup. The Profile page appears.
  4. In Deployment name, enter a friendly name for your deployment.
  5. In Deployment profile, select an existing deployment profile with the deployment settings you want to use. 
  6. Click Next. The Resource Location page appears with the resource location as defined in the selected deployment profile.
  7. Click Next. The Pre-deployment Checklist appears.
  8. Review the prerequisites and click Continue. The Size page appears with the VM configurations as defined in the the selected deployment profile.
  9. Review the VM configurations and click Next. The Configuration page appears with the parameters as configured in the selected deployment profile.
  10. Review the configuration parameters and click Next. The Deployment Profile dialog appears with the profile name and description.
  11. To update the deployment profile, click Save. If you do not want to update the profile, click Cancel. The Summary page appears with the deployment configurations.
  12. Review the configurations and click Deploy.

Delete a deployment profile

  1. On the Library page, point to the blueprint you want to deploy. 
  2. Under Actions, click Actions > Deploy. The blueprint description page appears. 
  3. Click Start deployment setup. The Profile page appears.
  4. In Deployment name, enter a friendly name for your deployment.
  5. In Deployment profile, point to the deployment profile you want to delete. 
  6. Click the X icon.
  7. Click Delete.

0 Comments